Understanding PCI DSS Compliance

Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) is a data security standard framework comprising international best practices to secure data pertaining to card payments. The framework was set in 2006 by PCI Security Standards Council (PCI SSC). PCI DSS regulations establish security guidelines with an aim to secure card-payment processing globally. PCI compliance applies to any organization storing or processing cardholder or sensitive data.

Complying with PCI DSS regulations provide numerous benefits such as:

  • Improve data security by aligning with international best practices
  • Increase customer and stakeholder trust
  • Avoid compliance penalties and heavy fines
  • Form baseline to comply with other data protection regulations such as GDPR
Understanding PCI DSS Compliance

PCI Compliance Requirements

PCI SSC has laid 12 requirements under six different categories. Organizations need to follow these requirements to become PCI DSS compliant.

Categories/Goals PCI DSS Requirements
Create and maintain a secure network
  • Secure network with a firewall to protect data
  • Change system passwords and other security parameters regularly
Protect cardholder data
  • Take measures to protect stored data
  • Encrypt cardholder data before transmitting through open or public networks
Install and maintain a Vulnerability Management System (VMS)
  • Implement and regularly update anti-virus
  • Develop, patch, and maintain applications and systems
Deploy access control measures
  • Restrict unauthorized access to cardholder data
  • Assign unique ID and password to each person having access to data
  • Restrict unauthorized physical access to your systems and data
Monitor and test networks regularly
  • Implement a logging system such as a SIEM to track and log access to network resources and data
  • Regularly conduct assessments and penetration tests on all systems and processes
Establish and maintain an information security policy
  • Define, implement, and maintain a security policy

SharkStriker Approach

PCI compliance security categorizes entities into four different levels based on the number of transactions they handle annually. Organizations of each level have to comply with various regulations enlisted by PCI DSS. SharkStriker takes a comprehensive life cycle approach that can help you implement and maintain all the requirements. Our experts have industry-specific knowledge to help entities of all sizes and across sectors. Besides, SharkStriker’s all-in-one solution includes all the services and tools essential to enhance data security and become PCI DSS compliant.

Our approach and PCI DSS compliance management services can be defined into five phases. Here are the essential services we offer and the approach we take to help entities achieve PCI DSS compliance.

Phase 1 – Scope Definition

Our team will understand your business requirements and identify sensitive data and systems processing it to define the scope of compliance. If you have already established the scope, we can also help evaluate it to ensure nothing is left out and assist you with implementation.

  • PCI DSS Gap & Risk Assessment
  • Development of Policies and Procedures
  • Data and asset classification
Scope Definition

Phase 2 – PCI DSS Gap & Risk Assessment

PCI DSS Gap and Risk Assessment

Our specialists will perform thorough assessments and tests to identify compliance gaps or potential threats in your IT posture. This will highlight any vulnerable area that attackers can exploit.

  • Vulnerability assessments
  • Penetration testing
  • Risk assessment
  • Firewall assessment

Phase 3 – Risk Treatment Plan

Based on the assessment results, we help you define security controls, policies, and risk treatment measures to bridge gaps and strengthen security. Our Extended Detection and Response (XDR) solution can further constantly monitor your network to put a data breach management response system.

  • Managed Security Solution (Endpoint, Network, and Cloud)
  • 24/7 Human-led Machine Accelerated Threat Hunting
  • Incident Response Management
  • Security Awareness Training
Risk Treatment Plan

Phase 4 – Implementation

Compliance Implementation

SharkStriker’s experts will help roll out the necessary technologies and tools required to implement the risk treatment plan. We will also assist you in providing awareness to your employees and contractors.

  • Customized service offerings
  • SharkStriker’s MDR Ultimate solution
  • SIEM implementation

Phase 5 – Audit & Compliance Reporting

After regular intervals, our experts will conduct audits of all the security measures implemented to ensure their effectiveness. If any deviations are found, we will also help mitigate them.

  • Performance review
  • PCI DSS compliance audits
  • Internal and external audit support
  • Documenting audit and compliance reports
Audit and Compliance Reporting

Why SharkStriker?

Compliance Specialists

SharkStriker’s compliance experts, having profound industry-specific knowledge, keep up with the constantly changing SAMA cybersecurity framework and regulations to ensure that your business consistently meets the latest regulations.

End-to-End Compliance

Our compliance services cover all the globally reputed regulations, including SAMA, GDPR, PCI DSS, ISO 27001, NESA, etc. We can also help determine what cybersecurity regulations you need to comply with.

Comprehensive Range of Services

SharkStriker is a one-stop solution for all your cybersecurity requirements. Besides compliance services, we also offer assessment, logging, hunting, detection, response, etc., services that too through a single solution offering.

24×7 Monitoring

Our experts will monitor your cybersecurity infrastructure round the clock to ensure no compliance gaps. It also helps in continuous improvement, essential in today’s evolving cybersecurity landscape.

Ensure Your Business Meets PCI DSS Compliance Regulations